Customer Reviews for Rainbow Loom®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Michaels.

Rainbow Loom®

Colorful rubber bands can make different patterned bracelets, rings and even a mini handbag.
Average Customer Rating:
4.71 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 31(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rainbow Loom®
Review 1 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All the Rave and All the Fun!

Date:August 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:New York, NY
Age:35-44
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We saw a friend wearing rainbow loom bracelets and were immediately intrigued…After finding out that they're available at Michaels, I took a train and a bus to race there. The one in Manhattan is very well stocked on the basic kit, but some of the more popular colors refills are sold out. We went through the entire bag of 600 bands over the weekend. Not sure why some kids have problem with the instructions, since there is a huge pool of tutorial videos on YouTube. My daughter just turned 6 and already she learned to make the basic and the fishtail by heart, and she was also able to make the triple on her own without any help. Can't believe I'm about to make another trip to Michaels tomorrow (after only 2 days). This is seriously an addictive hobby!
ps. not sure why they break on some people either, unless you smash it on purpose…the price is very reasonable, definitely very high ROI.
Pros: QualityGood valueEasy to usePerformed well
+120points
160of 200found this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality & fun product

Date:September 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Louis
Age:35-44
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this for my 9 yr old. She loves it! Product itself is good quality- the loom is surprisingly sturdy. I was concerned about the quality of the bands but they too are sturdy. We've messed up bracelets and had to take the bands off and start over & they worked just fine. The only con to the entire product, and the reason I rated performance with 4 stars, is the vague instructions. Very frustrating at the beginning, but once I figured it out I was able to show my daughter and she hasn't stopped making bracelets & rings. We have yet to go online for more ideas but as other reviewers have said, the information is out there and accessible on YouTube. As a single parent I am most impressed with the price. This is one item that won't break the bank! And thankfully the Michaels stores in our area were smart enough to stock up on the refill packs of bands (which include the C clips).
Pros: QualityGood valuePerformed wellinexpensive fun!
Cons: poor instructions
+141points
195of 249found this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy and fun

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Chandler, AZ
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this loom when I first saw it advertised because I have a Girl Scout troop and we make inexpensive items to sell at our Holiday Bazaar. I thought these might be fun and easy for the girls to make and sell. I made my first bracelet in less than 10 minute. Then I tried a few more by watching videos on the website. Finally, when I thought I had mastered the loom, I taught my daughter. She is 11 and gets impatient with crafts that aren't completed in 2 minutes or less. She had so much fun once she got the hang of it. We worked together for about 30 minutes, she didn't lose interest and she walked away with an arm full of adorable bracelets. I think we watched 4 videos from the site listed in the instructions, made 7 bracelets and barely made a dent in the bag of rubber bands. We are going to use these for our Bazaar, for sure! What fun!
Pros: QualityGood valueEasy to usePerformed well
+122points
134of 146found this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rainbow loom awesome

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Gastonia, NC
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My kids LOVE this loom. We have tried others and they don't seem to be as well made as the rainbow loom. You also can make a lot more with a rainbow loom than all the other ones out there. I've learned to do bracelets with my kids and I have to say it's actually fun. It's neat to see all the different ones they have come up with. We sit down almost every night that we aren't busy and make bracelets together. The only thing that would make this better is if it was a little cheaper. The bands aren't even cheap to buy. :( But other than that this product is GREAT! :) It's good to see the kids using their imagination instead of just sitting on a electronic device all the time.
Pros: QualityEasy to usePerformed well
Cons: Expensive
+106points
125of 144found this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

check box carefully

Date:February 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tita
Location:Chula Vista, CA
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The store is having a sale where you can purchase 2 of these rainbow looms for a good price. I went and got two boxes for two little girls that were having a party today, and when they opened the box we noticed that one of the boxes didn't have c clips and the other one didn't have instructions. Upon further inspection, we noticed that the boxes had been taped closed after being opened on one side. The instructions aren't a big deal, because of youtube but, without the c clips, one of the girls can't finish off her bracelets. Needless to say, the little girls and of course I are very disappointed and so I want to warn others.
Pros: low price
Cons: incomplete setstampered boxes
+57points
94of 131found this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rainbow Loom

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This looked like such fun! However, learning just the first basic single bracelet was a chore, and instructions are insufficient to make any of the prettier, more complex bracelets. I suppose I'll try to look on UTube. Definitely not something for most 6 y/o unless they do only the basic bracelet, and then they need guidance. This would be much more enjoyable with better instructions. Even the video on Michael's site showed only the basic bracelet, and that was not presented well. The idea is great; it's the follow-through of the product that falls seriously short.
Pros: fair valueperformed well only on single-strand bracelet
Cons: Poor performingDifficult to usetoo much time to create one itemhook is not easy to use on more elaborate designselaborate designs come with no instructionsmust check internet for detail pattern explanation
-61points
126of 313found this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stil Undecided

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Northern VA
Age:35-44
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I raced out and purchased this because we are about to give up on the traditional thread-type friendship bracelets. My daughter enjoys quick little projects, and the friendship bracelets are just too difficult for her to do independently. She is 7. After our first go at the Rainbow Loom, I'm still unsure she'l be able to do THIS on her own. We've only done ONE bracelet. It took at least a half hour. This would be much easier (I think) if someone could show us what to do. After a bunch of trial and error, she was satisfied to go to bed w/ ONE completed bracelet.
Pros: easier than threaded friendship bracelets!
Cons: mediocre performance
-6points
65of 136found this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:cheltenham,pa
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not just for kids! I cannot tell you how many adults I know who are having just as much fun making these bracelets. I agree with the writer who said it is addicting! I am glad to see so many children using their minds and talent rather than watching tv or playing video games. From a teacher's perspective, making bracelets is great for fine motor skills and eye-hand coordination. Also works those math skills -patterning and sequencing. Let alone it is just plain fun.
Pros: Good valueEasy to usePerformed wellQuality
+163points
185of 207found this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great gift!

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Miami, FL
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Rainbow Loom one month ago for my 9 year old daughter, and she's now the master in the house. She's teaching me! She learned from the YouTube tutorials, and now she's in advanced level and in a more creative process of inventing new bracelets. The R.L not only help her with the motor and vision skills, but also with the entrepreneur and business motivation. The only reason a gave it a 4.5 stars is for the hook, I'd preferred a stronger and durable one.
Pros: QualityGood valueEasy to usePerformed well
Cons: fragile hook
+181points
222of 263found this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I gave one to Bridget Mendler

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:35-44
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
During her concert at Royal Oak Music Theater, August 16th, my daughter and my niece made a Rainbow Loom bracelet for Bridget Mendler. After the concert, the girls waited for Bridget Mendler to get her autograph. After waiting awhile, she appeared and my niece gave Bridget the bracelet they made for her and she "LOVED IT" and wore it... My daughter LOVES THIS!!! And she made so many beautiful bracelets. She even went on You Tube to get more intricate designs!
Pros: QualityGood valueEasy to usePerformed well
+141points
169of 197found this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

Date:August 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amie
Location:Jaxon, MI
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the rainbow loom for my 7 year old and she loves it! The first day or so she struggled with the patterns, but we watched the videos online and she is a pro! I love that it's portable. It goes in the car, to any appointments, from room to room! I do wish Michael's carried the refill kits because we have gone through almost all of our rubber bands, but if you look other local stores have the refills!
Pros: Easy to usePerformed well
+58points
93of 128found this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great therapy

Date:September 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Lynbrook, NY
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
. While tailgating before a concert I saw young girls making these bracelets. I bought The loom thinking it would just be great therapy. I enjoyed learning how to make different ones. Now any outfit I put on I make a bracelet or two to match. All of my friends to see them want one, so now I'm very busy. I have made special ones for Gold Star families who have lost a loved one in war.
Pros: Easy to use
+154points
226of 298found this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rainbow Loom

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gizzy
Location:Virginia, V.A
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this product for my 11 year old girl and she loves it! This product is very easy to use once you get the hang of it. She has made over 45 bracelets and rings. My daughter loves making these for friends and family.
Rainbow Looms are not just for girls, boys can make them too, my son enjoys making bracelets for his favorite teams.
Pros: QualityGood valueEasy to usePerformed well
+212points
321of 430found this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It great to have

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Camarillo,CA
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have 4 of rainbow looms kit, I have 3 for back ups. It keep me busy, you not to old to make bracelets and charms and lot more. It so easy to make. You can sit in front of the tv and watch a movie and do rainbow looms, it kill time. I make a lot of bracelet and to much charms, your kids and grand kids and you will love it,
Pros: Easy to use
+122points
138of 154found this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Addicting!!

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Hamilton, ONtario
Age:35-44
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought the loom to make bracelets for my 4 year old's party, my 5 year old as since mastered the loom and we take it to the park every day where all the kids aged 4 to 10 can't wait to make some thing. My only problem is the instruction for the bigger bracelets can't be printed out so the other kids can work on them.
Pros: QualityGood valueEasy to usePerformed well
Cons: little instructions
+199points
253of 307found this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bracelets Galore!

Date:August 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Hendersonville, TN.
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought for my grandsons, ages 6 & 4. The little one could put the bands on after showing, The older one made 6 bracelets and then we went online for instructions for making a ring..He LOVED making them. Will buy more and replacements for other family & friends. Such a cute and easy project...and NOT MESSY!!
Pros: Good valueEasy to usePerformed well
Cons: could not use coupon for purchase.
+52points
108of 164found this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun Product

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Madison, WI
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 9 year old daughter figured it out faster than I did. I think the smaller hands helped. The designs other than the single are harder to understand, but that is why we have Utube and instructions. Lots of fun, other children want the bracelets off her wrists. Fun and enjoyment for all!
Pros: Good valueEasy to use
+218points
295of 372found this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Okay Experience

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kaliah
Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
Age:25-34
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My experience with the rainbow hasn't been very pleasant. It's not that the rainbow loom is a bad product,it isn't, it's that for a kid, thinking of how to make something like that seems a bit complicated. My child broke hers because of her frustration of not being able to work it.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Poor performingDifficult to use
-52points
111of 274found this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesomee!!!

Date:November 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tristin
Location:Baltimore, MD
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just got the rainbow loom a few weeks ago and i'm loving it. I have made a business with them. I have a mini factory going and everyone in school loves them. It really is a good creation and i recommend it to anyone that is 8 or older. I am sure they will love it.
Pros: QualityGood valueEasy to usePerformed well
Cons: Expensive
+232points
283of 334found this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rainbow Loom®
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rainbow Loom

Date:August 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Worcester, MA
Age:55-65
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Okay product, although instructions are not the best! Michaels does not sell repalcement bands or c clips, so, unless you buy them at A. C Moore you're out of luck when you use up what comes in the kit!
Cons: poor instructions
-100points
37of 174found this as helpful.
1 2 next>>