Customer Reviews for Jolee's Easy Image Transfer Paper - Dark

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Michaels.

Jolee's Easy Image Transfer Paper - Dark

Jolee's Easy Image transfer paper for Dark colored fabrics allows for quick and easy customization of t-shirts, tote bags, textile home décor and much more!   Create your personalized design on the computer, print it out on our Easy Image Transfer Paper and iron it on to instantly create your personalized gear! 
Average Customer Rating:
2.8 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
4 out of 10(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jolee's Easy Image Transfer Paper - Dark
Review 1 for Jolee's Easy Image Transfer Paper - Dark
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FELLOW NEWBIES PLEASE READ THIS & BREATHE EASIER!

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Southwest Oregon
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm not a crafter, so working with fabric and transfers is outside my comfort zone. (And I hadn't used my iron in years!) I needed to put a digital graphic/painting of mine on a cotton-poly square that a friend will combine with others into a gift quilt. So I had to use inkjet printer iron-on transfer sheets for the very first time. After reading the other reviews here, and several cautionary reviews elsewhere of various other brands and types, I was sure that I was going to have disappointing results with Jolee’s. Instead, I’m really happy. Yes, it leaves a white background—it’s supposed to. This type of transfer is for colored/dark fabrics, just like it says on the package front and just like the example photos there show. If you used the transparent type (which is always labeled for use with white and light-colored/pastel fabrics only) on darker material, the fabric color would show through your transfer and make it look awful. if your design completely fills the printed area and you trim around it, you won’t see any white at all—just like the example photos. As for leaving the iron on too long, just read the instructions—they tell you exactly how long to press. The only thing wrong with the instructions (and I’ve read that other manufacturers have made the same mistake) is that they say to “remove the backing paper using a smooth, even motion” after you’ve finished ironing on the transfer. These words are actually part of the instructions for the transparent type of transfer sheets, so just ignore them. What you actually remove at that stage is the included sheet of parchment paper that you’ve used to protect the transfer from the iron during application. With my project, it curled up off the surface when I removed the iron, and I just lifted it off. Easy peasy, even for a first-timer. And the finished product is just what I’d hoped for. Oh, and yes, these transfer sheets are expensive, but check the prices on other brands of and you’ll see that they all are.
Pros: Easy to usePerformed wellQualityno worries!
Cons: Expensive
+9points
11of 13found this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jolee's Easy Image Transfer Paper - Dark
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
sabrina
Location:New york
Age:35-44
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was making tshirts for making strides breast cancer walk they came out perfect. And easy to use
Pros: QualityGood valueEasy to use
-1point
2of 5found this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jolee's Easy Image Transfer Paper - Dark
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Desired results achieved

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:AZ
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The only con I came up with for this product is the price. It is a bit expensive, so it will always be a purchase with coupon. Other than that, this product worked great, was easy to use and the directions were clear. Totally satisfied!
Pros: QualityEasy to usePerformed well
Cons: Expensive
+1point
3of 5found this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jolee's Easy Image Transfer Paper - Dark
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great - unless you put it through the dryer

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:New York
Age:35-44
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was very pleased with how these looked when I finished ironing them. They looked pretty good after running them through a cold wash on the gentle cycle. Unfortunately for me I misread the directions and put these through the dryer on low heat - big mistake! The areas on my image that were supposed to be white now look dirty.
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Expensivenot dryer safe
+2points
2of 2found this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jolee's Easy Image Transfer Paper - Dark
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Product leave white background

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:USA
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product leaves WHITE background, it is NOT transparent which contradicts the images on the front of packaging if not paying close attention. The last step of peeling off the transparent paper is NOT TRUE. I can see this product does work well if you intend to have WHITE in the background. Don't leave iron on too long because the color of shirt WILL BLEED through
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: ExpensivePoor performing
-6points
2of 10found this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jolee's Easy Image Transfer Paper - Dark
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Took 5 tries to get desired results

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:New York State
Age:55-65
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
The first 4 times, I got light splotches all over my design. No idea why. Kept trying different solutions. Finally came up with the idea that this product is very sensitive to leaving the iron on more than 20 seconds. (Iwas counting 20 seconds-I guess you need a stop watch!) Ruined several tee shirts and some scrap material in the process. Would not recommend. I have used other brands with out difficulty.
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Poor performingLow qualityno way to contact manufacturer for asisstance
+22points
26of 30found this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jolee's Easy Image Transfer Paper - Dark
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible product

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Seattle, WA
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this product looked great..until you wash it! The iron on either peeled off or took off chunks of the pictures and cracked. I followed the directions on washing and this product failed. Use another product.
Cons: Poor performingLow quality
+1point
2of 3found this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jolee's Easy Image Transfer Paper - Dark
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Frustrated beyond belief

Date:October 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
To preface this review - I have never, EVER written a review for any product at any time on any site. To be so compelled means this had to be a pretty bad experience. I used all five sheets trying to create one shirt, trying different deviations on the directions because the actual directions cannot possibly be correct. This product purports to be able to print on dark fabrics. On the second to last step (actually ironing it on), however, the white portion of the transfer sticks to the fabric as well. There is an imaginary last step where you are supposedly able to peel the transfer off , but this is simply untrue. I'm glad I was smart enough to try it on an old shirt first, before finally resorting to printing a background color to color match the shirt to which I was transferring. Fortunately, this was for a Halloween costume, so it was not a big deal. In the future, though, I will plan ahead and use sites that specialize in this sort of thing.
Cons: ExpensivePoor performingDifficult to useLow qualitydoes not do what it says
+1point
5of 9found this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jolee's Easy Image Transfer Paper - Dark
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ruined 2 items in attempting to use

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have used other transfer products before, but this is the first time I found one that had totally confusing instructions. After finally getting the transfer to adhere (without the second peeling mentioned in the instructions!), I got blotchy results and I'm not pleased with my final product.
Cons: ExpensivePoor performingDifficult to useLow qualitymisleading instructions
+20points
25of 30found this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jolee's Easy Image Transfer Paper - Dark
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poorly worded instructions no contact number

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Richard
Location:San Diego
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance (Achieved desired results): 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I tried to create a transfer and only succeeded in transferring the whole printed image, white backing plastic and all. Other transfer papers suggest text be printed in reverse but this product did not. I tried to find a contact number to get clarification but could not find one either on the printed instructions or on the web site.
Cons: Poor performing
0points
4of 8found this as helpful.